Cat-astrophe!

You know, I love my babies. I really do.

But right now I want to kill them.

Last night I finally finished knitting my ‘draft stopper.’ It looked great. It was twice as wide and about as long as a standard scarf. Even though it is to be felted, I decided that blocking it would help me seam it without too much hassle. It’s stockinette stitch so it rolls something awful. Finding the edges to seam them would be a huge challenge.

So I set a towel out on my sewing machine, wet the piece and begin the painstaking process of pinning it down. When I was finished, I went off to play on the computer for a few minutes.

When I returned, the piece was hanging off the edge of the dryer, pins all willy nilly. That was bad enough. Oh no, apparently one of my cats decided to take a stitch or two with him. There was a huge pull and resulting hole in the work.

And even though, I know that I’m felting the piece and it’ll never be noticeable, it still broke my heart. I had worked for weeks on this project and was so proud of it.

Cats and knitting are two things that always seem to go together, even though they never should. *sigh*

I should finish the seaming tonight and will felt it this weekend. Completion post will follow. Until then, I will get my revenge on my cats by cuddling them when they don’t want to be cuddled.

I know, living with me is rough!

2 Comments

Filed under Felting, Knitting, Projects

2 responses to “Cat-astrophe!

  1. Oh, no! Be careful with leaving yarns and fibers out around cats, though. My very first cat played with thread and ate it. By the time we figured out what was causing her to be ill and lose a lot of weight, it was too late. The thread had wrapped around her intestines. She hung on valiantly, but died two months later.

  2. femmeknitzi

    Yikes! I’ve heard such stories about twistie ties, but the worst I’ve ever heard about yarn was the joy of having it in one end and out the other all at the same time! I will definitely be more careful. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

